Old bridge in Heidelberg on the Neckar river
Heidelberg old bridge
Picture 2 Heidelberg old city and old bridge
Picture 3 Heidelberg Holy Ghost Church
Picture 4 Heidelberg main street
Picture 5 Heidelberg main street with Holy Ghost Church
Picture 6 Gasthaus Stahl is a real gem of a place, in that wonderful, scenic location
Picture 7 The old brick arch wine cellar of the winery Stahl
Picture 8 Castle of Heidelberg Heidelberger Schloss
Boat cruise package
The first Heidelberg bridge was built by Karl Theodor (1742-1799), which explains it's official name "Karl-Theodor-Brücke". Altogether, the bridge was rebuilt 9 times; more than likely victim of flooding. In 1788, it was finally rebuilt completely in stone and supported by 8 posts. The double-armed bridge gate comes from the late middle ages. The towers served the bridge keeper not only as an apartment, but also as a dungeon for prisoners. In 1945 both rooms above the gateway were refurbished as artistic apartments.
Numerous statues adorn the north and south sides of the bridge. For example, in the south is a standing portrait of the baroque baron surrounded by the river gods of the Rhine, Donau, Neckar and Mosel rivers. In the north, Karl Theodor is brought in connection with Paellas Athenae. The 3 female figures at the foot of the bridge personify piety, justice, agriculture and trade. Another statue, the "Brückenaff" (or bridge ape) is the favorite animal of the Heidelberger.
|© 1999-2003 www.hotel-rhein-weinproben.com
www.hotel-germany-rhine.com www.bacharach-germany.net www.european-vacation.net
Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Alle Angaben ohne Gewähr. Änderungen vorbehalten.
Stand: Saturday, 10. January 2009 URL dieser Seite: http://heidelberg-germany.european-vacation.net/pictures/neckar-river/index.html